Skip to main content

Free billing audit

Get audit →
Quick Answer

Which Is Better: Tebra, athenahealth, or eClinicalWorks?

No single winner: it turns on how you want to pay and who works the claims. Tebra publishes $599 or $799 per physician provider monthly at standard volume; eClinicalWorks publishes $499 (EHR) or $599 (EHR plus practice management) per provider, with RCM at 2.9% of collections; athenahealth charges a percentage of collections and lists no rate. Our read: Tebra for solo to midsize practices that want a per-provider subscription; athenahealth for practices that want payer follow-up inside a percentage fee and can staff coding and charge entry; eClinicalWorks for a plain per-provider price with RCM sold separately. Vendor pages, read 1 October 2026.

  • eClinicalWorks publishes $499 per provider per month (EHR only), $599 (EHR with practice management) and 2.9% of practice collections (RCM as a Service), each with no start-up costs
  • Tebra publishes per-provider monthly prices by provider type and volume (physician at standard volume: $599 Practice Essentials, $799 Practice Automation); its pricing overview cites $49 to $799 per provider per month across single solutions and bundles
  • athenahealth prices as a percentage of collections; its Cost & Value page names the model and lists no rate
  • Tebra's comparison page says most practices go live within 8 to 10 weeks with a dedicated Onboarding Manager; its onboarding page says most customers begin using the platform within 45 days
  • eClinicalWorks includes initial training for 1 to 9 providers; implementation fees apply above nine
  • athenahealth's service description assigns claim-status follow-up and payer appeals (where it believes the payer erred) to athenahealth, and leaves coding, charge entry and review of flagged denials caused by inaccurate practice-entered data to the practice
  • Read from vendor pages on 1 October 2026; confirm in writing before signing
Comparison

Tebra (Kareo) vs athenahealth vs eClinicalWorks

Last updated

Tebra (formerly Kareo), athenahealth and eClinicalWorks sell integrated EHR and practice-management software to US physician practices, and they price in two main ways: per provider per month, or as a percentage of collections. None is universally best: each fits the practice profile it targets and is weaker where another platform serves that profile better. This page compares what each vendor itself publishes about price, onboarding and billing scope, plus the legal floor for exporting your data if you switch. Vendor-published prices were read on 1 October 2026: Tebra and eClinicalWorks publish per-provider prices, and athenahealth lists no rate on the pages read. Treat every price here as the starting point for a written quote, and run the arithmetic on your own collections.

At a Glance

Factor Tebra (Kareo) athenahealth eClinicalWorks
Pricing basis (vendor pages, read 1 Oct 2026) Per provider per month by provider type and volume tier; custom quote on request; unlimited non-clinical staff at no extra cost Percentage of collections; no rate on the pages read Per provider per month on published plans; RCM as a Service at a percentage of collections
Price points the vendor states Per provider per month at standard volume: physician $599 (Practice Essentials) or $799 (Practice Automation), non-physician $399 or $449, therapist $225 or $299. Single solutions from $49 (patient experience and marketing, non-physician, practices under 100 claims a month); EHR or billing starter (practices under 100 claims a month) from $99 non-physician, $199 physician No rate published; Super User Training listed at $2,500 per person $499 EHR only; $599 EHR with practice management; 2.9% of practice collections for RCM as a Service
Start-up and onboarding Dedicated Onboarding Manager; most practices live within 8 to 10 weeks (comparison page), most customers using the platform within 45 days (onboarding page); one-time onboarding fee, amount not stated Training, go-live support and Bootcamp are fee-based, typically within onboarding fees; Super User Training $2,500 per person No start-up costs listed; airfare billed separately; fees per patient statement and per eClinicalMessenger transaction
Billing work inside the fee Tebra says you can keep billing in-house, use a billing partner or outsource without a required RCM contract Co-sourced: athenahealth works claim-status follow-up and appeals where it believes the payer erred; the practice keeps coding, charge entry and review of flagged denials caused by inaccurate practice-entered data Per-provider plans list software features; RCM as a Service lists claim creation and processing, denial and rejection management and appeals at all levels
Claim routing Tebra's pricing policy names "Tebra's Clearinghouse" for claims, remittances and eligibility checks athenahealth maintains EDI interfaces to payers or claims intermediaries Partner clearinghouses; its partner page names Optum, TriZetto Provider Solutions and Waystar
Size signals in vendor terms Solo to midsize (Tebra's own comparison page) Bootcamp is offered to organizations with 5 or fewer providers and up to 30 staff Initial training included for 1 to 9 providers; implementation fees apply above nine
Our read: best for Solo to midsize practices that want a per-provider subscription Practices that want payer follow-up inside a percentage fee and can staff coding and charge entry Practices that want a plain per-provider price for EHR or EHR with practice management, with RCM as its own 2.9% plan

Tebra (Formerly Kareo): Strengths and Profile

Kareo and PatientPop announced the closing of their merger, and the Tebra name, on 2 November 2021, and Tebra's pricing page now says 'Kareo is now part of Tebra.' Tebra describes itself as an all-in-one platform for clinical documentation, billing, payments, patient experience and practice growth, built for private practices. It prices per provider, not per user, and publishes monthly prices by provider type (see the pricing section below).

What Tebra says it offers, from its own September 2026 comparison page: a dedicated Onboarding Manager, with most practices live within 8 to 10 weeks; billing you can keep in-house, hand to a billing partner or outsource without a required RCM contract; patient-experience and marketing tools in the same platform, including review management and Google Business Profile optimization; and support for 50+ specialties. These are Tebra's statements about itself, not independent measurements.

Where Tebra's terms point to limits: its comparison page lists its supported practice size as solo to midsize and athenahealth's as small to enterprise, so ask Tebra how pricing and onboarding change at your provider count. Because the subscription is per provider, cost rises with each provider added. Tebra's pricing policy also lets it move an account from a subscription to a transactional plan after 30 days' notice once the account exceeds 500 claims per provider per month, and its pricing page lists add-ons such as EPCS setup and PDMP integration.

Our read: solo to midsize practices that want a per-provider subscription, a guided onboarding and billing they can keep in-house or outsource. If you already run on Tebra, see billing support inside a Tebra account.

athenahealth: Strengths and Profile

athenahealth prices athenaOne as a percentage of collections: its Cost & Value page says the model 'corresponds to your organization's collections' and lists no rate, and its athenaOne page says 'Reach out for custom pricing', so any percentage you hear is a quote, not a published price.

What the percentage buys is set out in athenahealth's own service description (athenaOne Base, Summer 2026 edition, published 22 July 2026), which splits each athenaCollector service line into work athenahealth performs and work it marks 'Excluded, to be provided by Client'. athenahealth maintains the EDI interfaces that submit claims, makes claim-status follow-up calls and sends demand letters, researches certain denial types, and asks payers for reconsideration or formal appeal when it believes the payer erred. The practice keeps coding and charge entry, re-opening zero-paid lines under $200, calls about underpayments, and review of flagged claims denied over registration, onboarding or coding information the practice's staff entered and the payer found inaccurate. See which athenaCollector work stays with the practice for the full split.

athenaOne Base is athenaClinicals, athenaCollector and athenaCommunicator, and athenahealth is renaming its athenaNet platform to athenaOne. The service description says Global Rules are 'written by athenahealth and can apply to any and all clients across athenahealth's network', and names payer manuals and bulletins and Medicare's Correct Coding Initiative edits among their sources. Onboarding is fee-based: end-user training and go-live support are each offered for a fee that is 'typically a component of your onboarding fees', and Super User Training is priced at $2,500 per person.

Trade-offs: with no published rate, comparing cost depends on a written quote, and a percentage fee rises with collections. Our read: practices that want payer follow-up inside a percentage fee and can staff coding and charge entry themselves.

Ownership, as announced: in November 2021 athenahealth said it had agreed to be jointly acquired by affiliates of Bain Capital and Hellman & Friedman for $17 billion, with Veritas Capital and Evergreen Coast Capital each retaining a minority investment. We have not verified current ownership.

eClinicalWorks: Strengths and Profile

eClinicalWorks sells EHR and practice management on per-provider plans it publishes: EHR Only at $499 a month and EHR with Practice Management at $599 a month, each listed with no start-up costs. RCM as a Service is sold separately at 2.9% of practice collections (pricing page, read 1 October 2026; the pricing section below has the detail).

What eClinicalWorks states: initial training is included for practices with 1 to 9 providers; it will migrate data from an existing EHR to eClinicalWorks for free; and its site lists dental, vision, behavioral health, ambulatory surgery center and urgent care solutions. For claims, its partner page names Optum's Revenue Performance Advisor, TriZetto Provider Solutions and Waystar as clearinghouse partners. For working denials and A/R inside the platform, see working denials and A/R inside eClinicalWorks.

Trade-offs: implementation fees apply above nine providers, airfare is billed separately, and the pricing page lists fees per patient statement and per eClinicalMessenger transaction without a price. In 2017 eClinicalWorks and certain employees agreed to pay $155 million to resolve a Justice Department False Claims Act lawsuit (allegations only, with no determination of liability); the FAQ below gives the details. That is history, not a current rating.

Our read: practices that want a plain per-provider price for EHR or EHR with practice management, with RCM as its own 2.9% plan, and will confirm the fees that apply as the provider count passes nine.

What Do Tebra, athenahealth and eClinicalWorks Actually Charge?

The three vendors price in two main ways: per provider per month (Tebra and eClinicalWorks) or as a percentage of collections (athenahealth, and eClinicalWorks's RCM as a Service plan). Tebra and eClinicalWorks publish per-provider prices; athenahealth lists no rate. The vendor figures below were read from each vendor's own pages on 1 October 2026; the arithmetic is ours.

Tebra publishes per-provider monthly prices on its pricing-overview page and also returns a custom quote through its pricing form. It prices per provider, not per user: unlimited non-clinical staff use the platform at no extra cost (pricing page). At standard volume a physician provider is $599 a month on Practice Essentials (billing, clinical EHR and telehealth) and $799 on Practice Automation (which adds patient-experience tools); a non-physician provider (Tebra's examples include nurse practitioners and physician assistants) is $399 and $449, and a therapist $225 and $299. Practices submitting 100 claims or fewer a month can qualify for lower tiers (from $349 and $399 for physicians) and move to standard pricing after three consecutive months above that threshold. Single solutions start from $49 per provider per month for Patient Experience + Marketing (non-physician providers at practices submitting fewer than 100 claims a month); the EHR and billing starters, on the same under-100-claims basis, start at $99 for non-physician and $199 for physician providers. Tebra says exact cost depends on provider count, specialty, claim volume and bundle. Its own September 2026 comparison page cites subscription pricing from $49 to $799 per provider per month and says pricing is not based on a percentage of collections. Its pricing policy (last updated effective 1 July 2026) lists a one-time onboarding fee billed at sign-up without stating an amount. Add-ons its pricing page lists include EPCS setup at about $75 per provider one time and PDMP integration at $500 one time per facility plus about $50 per user a year.

athenahealth prices athenaOne as a percentage of collections. Its Cost & Value page says the model 'corresponds to your organization's collections' and lists no rate, so any percentage you hear is a quote, not a published price. Onboarding is fee-based: its service description says end-user training and go-live support are each offered for a fee that is 'typically a component of your onboarding fees', and lists Super User Training at $2,500 per person.

eClinicalWorks publishes three plans on its pricing page: EHR Only at $499 per provider per month, EHR with Practice Management at $599 per provider per month, and RCM as a Service at 2.9% of practice collections, each listed with no start-up costs. Initial training is included for practices with 1 to 9 providers; additional implementation fees apply above nine providers, airfare is billed separately, and fees apply per patient statement and per eClinicalMessenger transaction without a price on the page. Six providers on EHR with Practice Management is $43,128 a year in subscription ($599 x 12 x 6) before those fees. Percentage-of-collections pricing is therefore not unique to athenahealth. RCM as a Service is listed as its own plan, so we do not add it to the per-provider subscriptions in any arithmetic here.

A percentage fee equals a flat monthly fee when annual collections per provider equal twelve times the monthly fee divided by the percentage. For a $599 per provider monthly subscription ($7,188 a year), a 4% fee costs the same at $179,700 of collections per provider, a 6% fee at $119,800 and an 8% fee at $89,850. Below those levels the percentage costs less than the subscription; above them it costs more. The $599 figure is both Tebra's published Practice Essentials price for a physician at standard volume and eClinicalWorks's published price for EHR with Practice Management; the scopes differ, so treat it as an arithmetic example, not a like-for-like pairing. These rates are illustrations, not quotes: athenahealth lists none. See how percentage and per-claim fees compare for the billing-service version of this arithmetic.

The comparison is not apples-to-apples. A per-provider subscription buys software, while athenahealth's percentage also buys the A/R follow-up and denial work its service description assigns to athenahealth, and eClinicalWorks sells that kind of work as its separate 2.9% plan. Whether the three land close together or far apart depends on which services you normalize and at what collections volume, so run the arithmetic on your own collections rather than trusting any headline rate, including the ones above.

Tebra vs athenahealth: Which Fits Your Practice?

Tebra vs athenahealth is mainly a pricing-model and scope decision. Tebra is a per-provider subscription with published prices by provider type and volume tier, a dedicated Onboarding Manager and, by Tebra's comparison page, go-live within 8 to 10 weeks for most practices; it requires no RCM contract, so billing work stays with you, a billing partner or an outsourcer. athenahealth charges a percentage of collections, lists no rate, and its service description assigns claim-status follow-up and payer appeals (where it believes the payer erred) to athenahealth, and coding, charge entry and review of flagged denials caused by inaccurate practice-entered data to the practice.

The break-even logic follows from that structure. Below a certain level of collections per provider a percentage fee costs less than a flat subscription, and above it the subscription costs less (the pricing section above gives the levels for a $599 fee). But a percentage fee is also buying revenue-cycle labor, not just software, so the comparison has to normalize for service scope. For the flagged denials that stay with the practice, see focused denial work.

Our read: choose Tebra if you are a solo to midsize practice, want a per-provider subscription and are comfortable owning billing operations or outsourcing them separately. Choose athenahealth if you want payer follow-up and appeals inside the platform contract, can staff coding and charge entry, and hold a written quote that makes sense at your collections.

Tebra vs eClinicalWorks: Which Fits Your Practice?

Tebra vs eClinicalWorks compares two per-provider subscriptions that both publish prices. eClinicalWorks lists $499 for EHR Only and $599 for EHR with Practice Management per provider per month, each with no start-up costs. Tebra lists $599 for a physician at standard volume on Practice Essentials (billing, clinical EHR and telehealth) and $799 on Practice Automation, with lower prices for non-physician providers, therapists and low-volume practices, so the gap between them depends on which Tebra bundle, provider type and claim volume you compare.

Onboarding differs too. Tebra's comparison page says most practices go live within 8 to 10 weeks, guided by a dedicated Onboarding Manager. eClinicalWorks's pricing page states no go-live time; it includes initial training for 1 to 9 providers and charges implementation fees above nine.

Our read: choose Tebra if you are a solo to midsize practice that wants pricing built around your own provider type and claim volume and a guided onboarding. Choose eClinicalWorks if you want a plain per-provider price for EHR or EHR with practice management and will confirm the fees that apply as your provider count passes nine.

Decision Factors: How to Choose Among the Three

Walk through the decision factors that matter in selection. What follows is our read, anchored to what each vendor states.

Practice size: Tebra's comparison page lists its supported practice size as solo to midsize. eClinicalWorks includes initial training for 1 to 9 providers and charges implementation fees above nine. athenahealth offers Bootcamp onboarding to organizations with 5 or fewer providers and up to 30 staff. Those are vendor terms, not rankings: ask each vendor how pricing and onboarding change at your provider count.

Specialty: Tebra says it supports 50+ specialties, eClinicalWorks's site lists dental, vision, behavioral health, ambulatory surgery center and urgent care solutions, and athenahealth's service description says it maintains a library of specialty-specific clinical documentation templates. Specialty-deep practices should also look at specialty platforms such as Modernizing Medicine or TherapyNotes before defaulting to one of these three.

Pricing model: a per-provider subscription (Tebra, or eClinicalWorks's EHR plans) does not rise with collections the way a percentage does, though Tebra's tiers vary with claim volume, while a percentage of collections (athenahealth, or eClinicalWorks's RCM plan) moves with them. The break-even arithmetic in the pricing section shows where they cross.

Billing work inside the fee: practices that want the vendor to work claim-status follow-up and appeals lean toward athenahealth or eClinicalWorks's RCM as a Service; practices running their own billing, or using a separate billing service, lean toward the per-provider plans. Integrated versus standalone billing is its own decision, covered in the related comparisons below.

Implementation timing: of the vendor pages read, only Tebra's pages state a go-live time (its comparison page says 8 to 10 weeks for most practices; its onboarding page says most customers begin using the platform within 45 days). eClinicalWorks and athenahealth state none, so ask each for a dated project plan before you commit to a go-live date.

Long-term scaling: ask each vendor how cost changes as you add providers. Tebra adds a subscription per provider, eClinicalWorks adds $499 or $599 per provider per month and implementation fees above nine providers, and athenahealth's percentage rises with collections.

How MedPrecision Works With Each Platform

As an outsourced billing service, MedPrecision works inside the practice's own platform rather than asking it to switch. On athenahealth, we staff the athenaCollector work the service description leaves with the practice (athenahealth billing support). On eClinicalWorks, we work claims, denials and A/R inside the practice's eCW instance, and RCM as a Service is eClinicalWorks's own 2.9% plan, so an outside service is an alternative to it (eClinicalWorks billing support). On Tebra, we work claims, denials and A/R inside the practice's existing Kareo/Tebra login, and Tebra says billing can stay in-house or go to a partner or outsourced service without a required RCM contract (Kareo/Tebra billing support). The platform shapes the operating details, not whether outsourced billing fits: see the platform-vs-billing-service decision. For our own fees, see MedPrecision's published pricing.

When to Choose Each Option

Choose Option A

Tebra (formerly Kareo)

Choose Tebra (formerly Kareo) if you are a solo to midsize practice (Tebra's own stated range) that wants a per-provider subscription priced by provider type and claim volume, a dedicated Onboarding Manager, and the option to keep billing in-house, use a billing partner or outsource it; or if unlimited non-clinical staff at no extra cost matters to you.

Choose Option B

athenahealth, eClinicalWorks (multi-platform comparison)

Choose athenahealth if you want a percentage-of-collections contract in which athenahealth works claim-status follow-up and appeals where it believes the payer erred, you can staff coding, charge entry and review of flagged denials caused by inaccurate practice-entered data, and you hold a written quote that makes sense at your collections. Choose eClinicalWorks if you want a plain per-provider price ($499 for EHR only, $599 with practice management), accept that implementation fees apply above nine providers, and either run your own billing or buy RCM as a Service at 2.9% of practice collections.

The Verdict

Tebra (formerly Kareo), athenahealth and eClinicalWorks fit different practice profiles and price differently, so none is universally best. On what the vendors publish (read 1 October 2026): Tebra publishes per-provider prices by provider type ($599 or $799 a month for a physician at standard volume) and includes unlimited non-clinical staff; eClinicalWorks lists $499 and $599 per provider per month and sells RCM separately at 2.9% of collections; athenahealth charges a percentage of collections, lists no rate, and leaves coding, charge entry and review of flagged denials caused by inaccurate practice-entered data with the practice. Our read: Tebra for solo to midsize practices that want a per-provider subscription, athenahealth for practices that want payer follow-up inside a percentage fee, and eClinicalWorks for practices that want a plain per-provider price with RCM sold separately. Get a written quote from each, run the arithmetic on your own collections, and base the decision on reference-customer experience rather than demo polish.

Free Billing Audit · No obligation

Still weighing Tebra (Kareo) vs athenahealth vs eClinicalWorks?

Get a free, no-obligation billing audit. We trace denials, aging A/R, and under-coding to the root cause — and show you the dollar impact. Written findings in 3–5 business days.

Prefer to talk? Book a 15-minute call
Solo provider or group practice?

HIPAA-secure · No contract · We reply within 1 business day

Common Questions

Common questions about tebra (kareo) vs athenahealth vs eclinicalworks: compared fairly.

Get a Free Billing Audit

Talk to a billing specialist about your specific situation.

Get a Free Billing Audit

Did Kareo become Tebra? Are they the same product?

Yes. Kareo and PatientPop announced the closing of their merger on 2 November 2021 and unveiled the combined company's new name, Tebra, and Tebra's pricing page now says 'Kareo is now part of Tebra.' Tebra says the merger unified two independent-practice platforms into one suite, and describes the result as an all-in-one platform for clinical documentation, billing, payments, patient experience and practice growth. Tebra is therefore not 'better than Kareo' so much as Kareo combined with PatientPop under one brand and one platform.

How much does Tebra cost per month?

Tebra publishes per-provider monthly prices on its pricing-overview page and returns a custom quote through its pricing form. At standard volume a physician provider is $599 a month on Practice Essentials and $799 on Practice Automation; a non-physician provider is $399 and $449; a therapist is $225 and $299. Lower tiers for practices submitting 100 claims or fewer a month start at $349 and $399 for physicians, and Tebra says exact cost depends on provider count, specialty, claim volume and bundle. Its September 2026 comparison page cites $49 to $799 per provider per month and says pricing is not based on a percentage of collections. Unlimited non-clinical staff use the platform at no extra cost; add-ons such as EPCS setup (about $75 per provider, one time) are listed separately. Read 1 October 2026.

How much does eClinicalWorks cost per month?

eClinicalWorks publishes $499 per provider per month for EHR Only and $599 per provider per month for EHR with Practice Management, and sells RCM as a Service separately at 2.9% of practice collections, each listed with no start-up costs (pricing page, read 1 October 2026). Initial training is included for 1 to 9 providers, implementation fees apply above nine, and fees apply per patient statement and per eClinicalMessenger transaction. Six providers on EHR with Practice Management is $43,128 a year in subscription ($599 x 12 x 6) before those fees.

Is Tebra cheaper than athenahealth?

It depends on collections per provider and on what the percentage covers. Tebra charges per provider at published monthly prices by provider type and volume (a physician at standard volume is $599 on Practice Essentials); athenahealth charges a percentage of collections and lists no rate, so a fair comparison needs a written athenahealth quote. To find the break-even, multiply the monthly per-provider fee by 12 and divide by the percentage. At a $599 monthly fee (the published price of Tebra's Practice Essentials for a physician at standard volume and of eClinicalWorks's EHR with Practice Management, used here only as an example because the scopes differ), a 4% fee costs the same at $179,700 of annual collections per provider, a 6% fee at $119,800 and an 8% fee at $89,850. Below that level the percentage costs less; above it the subscription does. The percentage also pays for work that athenahealth's service description assigns to athenahealth, so normalize for that before deciding.

Why does athenahealth charge a percentage of collections instead of a subscription?

athenahealth's Cost & Value page says the model 'corresponds to your organization's collections' and lists no rate. The practical result is that the fee rises and falls with collections, so it costs less than a flat subscription below a break-even level and more above it. The percentage also covers more than software: athenaOne Base's service description splits revenue-cycle work between athenahealth and the client, so compare it with a subscription plus whatever billing work you would otherwise staff or outsource. Get any percentage in writing.

Which platform has the easiest implementation?

Of the vendor pages read for this comparison, only Tebra's pages state a go-live time, so vendor statements alone cannot show which is easiest. Tebra says most practices reach go-live within 8 to 10 weeks with a dedicated Onboarding Manager, and that timelines vary with data migration needs and clinical enrollment complexity (its September 2026 comparison page). Its onboarding page gives a second figure, saying most customers begin using the platform at their practice within 45 days, and its pricing policy lists a one-time onboarding fee billed at sign-up (amount not stated), so ask which milestone and which fees your plan uses. eClinicalWorks's pricing page lists no start-up costs, includes initial training for 1 to 9 providers and charges implementation fees above nine, but states no go-live time. athenahealth's service description states none either; it lists fee-based end-user training, go-live support and Bootcamp (for organizations with 5 or fewer providers and up to 30 staff) and says payer enrollment tasks must be completed during onboarding or the go-live date can be jeopardized. Ask each vendor for a dated project plan for your provider count.

How do these three compare on specialty support?

Each vendor describes specialty reach differently, and none of the statements measures depth within a specialty. Tebra says it supports 50+ specialties. eClinicalWorks's site lists dental, vision, behavioral health, ambulatory surgery center and urgent care solutions. athenahealth's service description says it maintains a globally available library of specialty-specific clinical documentation templates. For specialty-specific workflows, evaluate specialty platforms such as Modernizing Medicine, TherapyNotes, SimplePractice, WebPT or Raintree alongside these three, and ask each vendor for a demo built on your own specialty's workflows and your top payers.

Can I switch platforms without losing data or open A/R?

Yes, but you recover only what the old system can export, so agree the export in writing first. Health IT certified to 45 CFR 170.315(b)(10) must let a user export one patient's electronic health information without developer assistance, and the product must also be able to create an export of the electronic health information it can store for all patients, where the 'without subsequent developer assistance' requirement is stated only for the single-patient export; the criterion requires a computable format but names no data standard. A fee to perform that export 'for the purposes of switching health IT' falls outside the information-blocking fees exception, as does a fee to export or convert data not agreed to in writing when the technology was acquired (45 CFR 171.302(b)); see information-blocking rules. athenahealth's service description says clients can export records through EHI Export, CCDA Export or Clinical Chart Export, can begin at no cost once they notify athenahealth of intent to terminate, and must complete and download the exports before termination; a later export from a shut-down account takes several weeks and may carry a fee. After termination you may enter a Spindown Period that lets you view data and work hold buckets for claims created before the Termination Date, while athenahealth keeps tracking claims and managing denials on them; during that period athenahealth bills you monthly an amount equal to your Service Fee rate in the month before the Termination Date plus the then-current rate per paper patient statement, with no monthly minimum fee. eClinicalWorks says it migrates data from an existing EHR to eClinicalWorks for free. For scoping help see EHR implementation and migration support. This is not legal advice.

What did the 2017 eClinicalWorks Justice Department settlement involve?

On 31 May 2017 the U.S. Department of Justice announced that eClinicalWorks and certain employees would pay a total of $155 million to resolve a False Claims Act lawsuit alleging that the company misrepresented its software's capabilities, along with allegations that it paid kickbacks to certain customers in exchange for promoting its product. The release states that the claims were allegations only, with no determination of liability. As part of the settlement eClinicalWorks entered a five-year Corporate Integrity Agreement with HHS-OIG covering its EHR software (DOJ press release 17-591). This is history, not a current rating. We are not in a position to certify anyone's compliance record and will not claim to: the current answer to 'is this product certified, and against what criteria' is on ONC's Certified Health IT Product List, which is where your due diligence should come from rather than from us, along with data-export and support terms put in writing.

Do these platforms work with outside billing services?

Tebra says yes: you can keep billing in-house, work with a billing partner or outsource without a required RCM contract. For eClinicalWorks and athenahealth, the vendor pages read do not say whether an outside billing service can be given access, so ask each in writing how named user access for an outside biller is granted and what it costs before you sign a billing contract. On eClinicalWorks, RCM as a Service at 2.9% of practice collections is its own plan, so an independent billing service is an alternative to it rather than a requirement of the platform. On athenahealth, the work its service description leaves with the practice (coding and charge entry, review of flagged denials caused by inaccurate practice-entered data, sub-$200 zero-pays and underpayment calls) is the work an outside service would take on; see which athenaCollector work stays with the practice.

Are there other platforms I should evaluate beyond these three?

Yes. Aim for a shortlist of 3-5 platforms matched to your specialty mix, practice size and pricing-model preference. Platforms worth pricing the same way include AdvancedMD, DrChrono, NextGen and Veradigm and, where your specialty has its own platform, Modernizing Medicine, TherapyNotes, SimplePractice, WebPT or Raintree. This page does not rank any of them: ask each for its pricing basis, onboarding terms and data-export terms in writing, the same way the three above were compared.

How should I structure a platform evaluation?

Run a structured evaluation: define requirements (clinical workflow needs, billing depth, reporting, integration, specialty fit, growth plans), shortlist 3-5 platforms matched to your profile, request live demos with your specific specialty workflows and your top 3-5 payers represented, request reference customers from each vendor (specifically practices similar to yours in size and specialty), evaluate pricing on total cost of ownership (subscription or percentage fee + implementation + add-ons + clearinghouse + interface costs as relevant) over 5 years rather than year-one alone, evaluate switching cost (data export rights, exit assistance commitments, contract terms), and run a small pilot or proof-of-concept where feasible. Avoid making the decision based primarily on demo polish; base it on reference-customer experience at 6-12 months post-implementation.

Free billing audit

Need Help Comparing Your Specific Situation?

We will review your current billing setup against these benchmarks and show you exactly where the math points for your practice.

  • No contract
  • No setup fees
  • Reply within 1 business day
Call us Free audit